Christmas

Ok, first I am going to start out with a big fat no. No, we did not sing happy birthday Jesus, Mark. On to church last night. Had to be weird for the people who are used to seeing my dad sit alone in mass. Last night he was joined by the company of Brian, my brother, Athena, her boyfriend, Seth, and myself. (Mom is in the choir.) We’ve gotten a new priest since I left for college. Been through two I think, actually. I don’t know where he was from, but they’re never from the US. I am glad I go to mass every week or I wouldn’t have been able to understand what was going on. I don’t think I caught a word of what he said. At the end of mass he expressed his gratitude to the choir, which they seem to do every time I am home. Then everyone clapped. Why clap for the choir?!? I don’t get it. It’s part of church. They aren’t giving you a concert. Then when mass was ended and people were leaving, they all clapped again. Again, miffed.
I love coming home for Christmas.
There’s no where I would rather be on holidays but here. Today it is my family (mom, dad, brother, and me), athena and seth, aunt kay and uncle robert, and as always…the curries (5 of them). There is always a lot of alcohol and great food consumed and a good time is had by all. This year for Christmas I was given a microwave. Ha! I guess I needed one. That was the consensus by everyone but me. I’m sure I will make good use of it.
“Yeah, I like raw nuts.” -Uncle Robert
“There was one time we went down to the valley with grandma and there’s this river that runs between Texas and Mexico where….(interrupted by me and a smart ass comment)” -Uncle Robert
Leave a Reply

