“smile”

Ok, last night Athena and I both decided to rant about this and I plan to rant every time it happens. It happens pretty often, so get used to it.

Last night we were walking from Aquarium to Blind Pig. As we were passing Paradise some guy reached across Athena, poked me on the arm, and when I looked at him put his fingers on his dimple areas and told me to smile. I was surprised and I thought it was kind of funny, so I half laughed which caused a smile. Then I was frusterated that I had smiled. I didn’t know him, I don’t want to know him. Don’t tell me to smile! I don’t walk around my life with a smile permanantly plastered on my face. I think people tell me to smile because they think I am upset. I am not, I just have a straight face at that particular moment. It happens. What gives you the right to tell me what to do?!? If I don’t smile you’ll think I’m rude. Thus, leaving me in an awkward situation. How about this. If you don’t know me, not only do you not have the right to tell me to smile but most likely, I don’t care to talk to you, oh random drunk guy!

Haha. I just remembered something that happened last night that I hadn’t planned on writing about, but had I seen it happen I would have laughed SO hard. Athena and I were crossing the streed and 5 or 6 guys were crossing it the other way (toward us). I saw two of them looking at me and sort of walking together at me. Then, right when they got to me they both put their hands out above their heads and yelled, “Bleh!!” It scared the heck out of me. I did the girly scream thing (but on my defense, it wasn’t that loud) and then laughed. I was so surprised. Grr. It was really funny, but I felt really stupid.

3 responses to ““smile”

  1. that first paragraph sure makes you sound like a bitch. im sure youre not, but thats a really bitchy thing to say. oh god, not someone trying to make you smile!! what horror, what atrocity! good god, get your head on straight

  2. I can’t say I agree with the person who left the previous comment, but I do want to point out something you wrote in a previous posting. You said that in 2006 you…

    “…want to say be less judgemental of myself and others, but I’m trying to put attainable things on here. I don’t realistically think that is something I can do at this point. But I am trying.”

    Frankly, it’s very hard not to be judgemental when dealing with strangers. But, I challenge you to be kind to others, even if you don’t know them. You just might make their day!

    Good luck.

  3. I get told to smile all the time. When I’m concentrating I guess it shows on my face. It really bothers me when people say “smile” to me and I’ve tried to walk around with a smile on my face all day, but sometimes I slip up and someone is always there to tell me to smile.

    What am I supposed to do? Just keep “smiling” consciously all day long. It really makes me feel bad when people say “smile”.

    Does anyone else have this problem?

Leave a Reply

