Spring

And there we have it.  The two week long period that is winter in Texas is over.  Well, it wasn’t much of a winter this year.  It was only below 45 at night a few times.  It was in the 50s or 60s during the day.  Sometimes I miss Michigan.  Not on days like yesterday though.  Yesterday is was sunny and perfectly clear.  It was about 79 or 80 all afternoon and I just could not stay inside.  On the way home from church I decided it was a perfect day to go somewhere and read outside in the sun.  The only question was where?  In Lubbock I had my 2 or 3 parks that I enjoyed many an afternoon at sprawled out on a blanket reading.  Here, I know of none like those.  When I got home and got changed I went to the only park I know of here.  Townlake at Riverside and S. 1st.  I changed into running clothes in case I decided I needed the exercise (althought I had previously decided to take one day of rest a week – Sunday), got my book and headed to the “lake.”

I arrived to a perfectly gorgeous day with people and animals everywhere.  I have never seen so many people there, but then again I have never been there on a perfect Sunday afternoon either.  I sat and read for a while, taking periodic breaks to watch people and their dogs.  Yesterday was one of my favorite kinds of days.  My absolute favorite days during the year are the clear, sunny, lightly breezy, 75-80 degree spring days.  You know, the kind where you can’t justify staying inside.  *sigh*  I love them.

There was a guy there yesterday with a 6 month old Great Dane.  I talked to him for a second about her.  I wanted one when I moved here and I had actually arranged his purchase and had to back out last minute.  When I had a real job I wasn’t home enough for a dog.  Now I am and I have reestablished the want for one.  I want a Great Dane.  Yes, I know they are big.  I have researched them…a LOT.  The guy yesterday reaffirmed what I have learned through research.  They are apartment dogs.  They do well in an apt.  Be spontanious and do what I want to do…or…listen to mom and dad and don’t?

Leave a Reply

