An email I recieved

THE DAVINCI CODE
I know that many of you have read The DaVinci Code and many are planning on seeing the movie. But, you may want to reconsider. The book and movie are grossly anti-Catholic and misrepresent the faith and the Church. The book shows the Catholic Church as a conspiracy group that wants to suppress the truth about Christ, truth, The Bible, and history. The book/movie isn’t just offensive to Catholics though, because it also distorts the nature of Jesus and Sacred Scripture.

I would recommend you not give money to someone who would misrepresent God and lead others astray. Many say “it is just a book” or “it is fiction”. But, I know of some who have been misled and who are questioning the Bible, Jesus, and the Catholic Church. This is a shame. The author, Dan Brown, claims it is historically accurate. Now, there is no reason to go picket the movie and give it more publicity, but I would tell you not to spend money on seeing the movie or buying the book.

Some of the misrepresentations include:
-Opus Dei as a secretive and cultic group
-The suppression of “other” books of the Bible
-DaVinci being a homosexual
-Augustine suppressing the truth about the feminine divine.
-The Priory of Sion existing before the 1900s
-The “invention” of Jesus’ divinity
-That Mary Magdalene is the true Holy Grail
-That Christ was married to Mary Magdalene
Etc, etc, etc…

FYI – yes, I have read the book, but I didn’t buy it (I got it at the library). I don’t plan on going to see the movie, but I might go to another movie that weekend just to send the makers of the movie a message. If you would like to discuss this further, I welcome any and all questions.

For more info visit – http://www.jesusdecoded.com/

I am really not sure what I think.  I do see the point about the facts being inacurate and him claiming that they are accurate and the portrayal of the church that the book/movie depicts.  I don’t think I’ll spend my money to go see it in the theater.  That, however, is not saying much because I don’t really see movies in the theater on a regular basis.

One response to “An email I recieved

  1. Do you really believe that mel?

Leave a Reply

