don’t hold my hand

June 5th I will be in New York working to become a grown up. I will be expected to do work. Good work. I will be expected to be proactive and to know what to do and how to do it. I want to do that. I want to live up to the expectations of me and surpass them. I want to work longer and harder and accomplish more at a higher level of quality than expected. I am putting a lot of pressure on myself and I hope that I can do it.

So far in life I have always had someone holding my hand and telling me exactly what to do. It’s weird to get used to that not happening in grad school. They essentially say, “write a paper.” It’s up to me to decide what I want to write about and then to determine how long it needs to be. I am given 2 months to do it and it is up to me when I want to start and finish and turn it in. Crazy. I’m having to get used to it. People expect more and guide less. I like that, but I feel like I need to grow into it.

Every job I have ever had I have been watched over and told what to do and how to do it. I assume there will be a lot of guidance this summer, but I think I will be given a lot more freedom and they will expect me to know what I am doing. They hired grad students as interns and undergrads as interns. They expect us (the grad students) to help, lead, and teach the undergrads. I hope I can do it. I hope I can live up to expectations. I want to do more than is required. I want to go above and beyond. I am ready. Let’s do this!

One response to “don’t hold my hand

  1. Hi! My name is Mary Reese, I’m a senior at Texas A&M University. I came across your blog on a google search. I am in the process of trying to find an internship for next summer. It sounds like you have some experience in that area. I currently hold an internship at Whole Wheat Creative in Houston, its a fairly small agency. I was considering applying at GSD&M for next summer. Any advice you can give me on where to go next? Did you enjoy your time in NY? Was CDM a good company? I have a million questions for you if you dont mind.

Leave a Reply

