Adv AP. Fall’06

The email I recieved:

Hey,

I have struggled for several days with the applications since I know how
not getting what you want is disturbing; I also know that sometimes getting
what you wanted also turns out to be less than desirable. I am really sorry
to inform you that I did not select your applications for Advanced Account
Planning in Fall, 2006. If you wish I will be glad to talk about it with
you later next week.

If it matters, I know that each of you is bright, talented serious about
advertising and you can count on my support in all your other endeavors.

Neal M. Burns, Ph.D., Professor

I hate that the applications weren’t anonymous and that he doesn’t like me. He has told me to my face that he doesn’t like me. Maybe my application could have been better, maybe not. I knew before applying that he wouldn’t let me in. I am an idiot because I thought there was a chance. I thought that he might be objective, might…who knows. I don’t know what I thought. I wish I hadn’t wasted my time…and my money. I hate that this can be so much of my future and it depends on one cynical, old man whose ass everyone likes to kiss. Everyone here thinks he is god and I just think he’s an ass. People think sucking up to him can get you somewhere in life. It can. His good side. Other than that? It isn’t going to get you very damn far. He let in somewhere between 5 and 10 people. Somewhere between 30 and 50 applied. I wish the application process was more objective…and anonymous. I’m glad I won’t have to see him this summer.

2 responses to “Adv AP. Fall’06

  1. you wanted it to be more objective…not subjective. The problem you had with it was that it was too subjective…
    -your friendly grammar police

  2. I knew what I mean. :) I wrote that early this morning. Thanks Scott.

Leave a Reply

