The summer education of me

I have a lot to learn from this city, I really do. Sunday morning when we were coming back into town, we passed a woman who was standing near a minivan whose back door thing was up and she had a line of people coming to her. She’d hand them something and then they would walk away. This woman was feeding poor/homeless people and it gave me a little perspective, as do the truely homeless people I pass every morning on my way to the subway. That same morning when we were headed to IHOP we drove down 5th, the east border of the park. There were homeless people sleeping on the benches all along the park. It’s so sad to me that that’s where people actually sleep and that they don’t live anywhere in particular. Slowly, I am learning. My eyes are opening. I am accepting and learning and realizing. This city is changing me and I like what it’s doing. I can’t wait to find out all the lessons it has in store.

Oh, I also wanted to say that men here do give up their seats for women on the subway. It doesn’t happen a lot, but it happened to me this weekend and I saw it happen once this weekend for someone else too. I have a long way to go and I can’t wait.

One response to “The summer education of me

  1. It is a pity that society does not provide simple fold out shelters in every park with a flat platform to sleep on and a roof, all very lightweight and small but adequate. I might need it one day. I was within a whisper of going homeless in 1989 (long story) but logical Mr Spock inside just gave Doctor McCoy a kick and I chickened out. The thought of the frightful drunken bounders I should likely meet completely put me off. cyquick.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

