Frustration

I just got back to my office from our intern summer assignment meeting. There are 6 interns. 3 of whom are related to people who are fairly high up (one is the CEO’s nephew), one is related to a women who worked closely with the company, and then there are the 2 of us who are grad students. We have been given the task of making a pitch for a new schitzophrenia drug. I know it’s all going to work out, but I am nervous and a bit frustrated. I am the only one who has some experience in the way things work in an advertising agency all the way through a pitch like this and what you need to do in what sequence to achieve what we need to. I don’t want to be that annoying know it all girl, but this is what I consider my life. Right now. What I am doing, this is my life. It’s not going to be my life. It is. What I do now affects my future. I don’t just want to do a good job and I don’t want us to rely heavily on other people. The part that’s going to be hard is that I get the impression that 2 or 3 of these people couldn’t care less about what happens. They’re just here cause it’s a summer job. I’m here because I want it to turn into a real job. I almost want to take over and do it all and make sure it’s happening well and right, but then my summer would suck. We’ll see how it goes.

2 responses to “Frustration

  1. Take it easy – if you’re good, it’ll show in your presentation.

    Also, remember that pitches don’t always go to the most creative. CEO’s have nephews too.

    That’s life in advertising.

    farrukh

  2. turn into a real job? then you’ll reaaallly miss austin b/c you won’t be here at all.

Leave a Reply

