A member lost

Today on my way to church I was talking to mom and trying to get off the phone because I was driving and running late. She got serious and told me there was something she had to tell me. Great. What? Her exact words were, “we lost Rok yesterday.” I asked if he’d died on his own or if they’d put him to sleep. She said they put him to sleep at 9:30 in the morning. I asked if they hadn’t told me because of the game. She said yes. Considerate. I still wish they’d told me. Apparently he’s had a stroke or something and couldn’t get up to go to the bathroom anymore and was sort of standing sideways when he could stand. Mom said he didn’t fight at all when Dad picked him up and carried him to the car or at the vet. She also said he didn’t even flinch when they gave him the shot. I’ve never had an animal from when it was young to old age. It wsa good for them to put him to sleep though, he had a very poor quality of life. It’s still sad that I’ll never see him again. I know he is only a dog, but he’s been a part of my life since I was 9. Such is life. Well, mine anyway. Don’t get close to me, you might die.

Leave a Reply

