Anonymity

Someone has recently made two comments on here that I feel like were made to provoke me. They didn’t give their own name, but used mine as well as put in my email address for their own, leading me to believe they absolutely know me and well. This person’s IP address shows they are in Virginia. I, however, have a difficult time believing this is possible, I know no one in Virginia, nor do I have an email buddy there. So much for tracking IP Addresses. I will respond here to their most recent comment and then I will no longer acknowledge them because they will not say who they are. If they don’t have the pluck to say who they are I am not compelled to continue a ridiculous blog repartee with them.

“i shouldn’t have to man up and say who i am . . . i like being your conscious. i didn’t miss what you were talking about, karma is a big thing in life and if you want something as bad as it sounds like you want this, you need to take a look at what you’re doing in your own life and figure out why things aren’t happening the way you want them to. i am a firm believer that if you want something bad enough and are willing to do everything in your power to get there the right way, everything will fall into place and you will get what it is you want or in your case what you feel you deserve.”

I respect your beliefs and if you know me so well perhaps you should know that in being Catholic I don’t believe in karma. I don’t think it is, in fact, relevant to me whereas you might. I refuse to believe men don’t treat me with the respect I deserve because of the way I may treat someone else. I try very hard to treat others the way I expect to be treated. That is a way I have lived my life since high school, however, whether or not this is a successful venture does not determine how others treat me. I just don’t believe that. I can see and acknowledge where the way I treat one person will directly effect the way they treat me in return, but I don’t believe another relationship with a person who is a stranger to them will affect the relationship we have.

Everyone deserves to be treated well by a romantic interest and if you’re not then that’s not right. That was my point. I respect that karma may be something that is big in your life, but it is not in mine, so please, don’t belittle my feeling by telling me that it is somehow my fault. The way people treat me in a romantic setting is not my fault, just like it is not the fault of a woman who allows herself to end up in a situation that results in her being date raped.

You may be a firm believer that if you want something badly enough and you’re willing to work hard to achieve or accomplish it in the right way that it will, bravo for you, but I take into account the will of God and the fact that not everything I want will be in His will. Just because I want something and work hard for it does not mean I will get it. That is a naive way of thinking. Take into consideration the Declaration of Independence and the wisdom of Thomas Jefferson when he wrote, “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.” The PURSUIT of happiness. Just because you pursue something does not mean you will ever realize it, that’s just not the way of life.

This is all I’m going to do to recognize you and explain myself. I will not do it again, please stop trying to be my “conscience,” my parents raised me well and I have my own, thank you.

2 responses to “Anonymity

  1. Thanks for pointing out the misuse (misspelling) of “conscious” in his post. Amusing.

  2. I concur with Scott. Also, I’m a little buzzed, hooray for Bourbon as a pain killer! (not really)

Leave a Reply

