A new job at the same place

Tomorrow I start my first day in a new store in a new position at the same company. It’s weird for me. I’ve been asking for this job since early November. About 2 weeks ago I helped out at another store and our regional manager was there during my shift. She asked to talk to me before I left, which made me nervous, I mean, she has the power to tell me, “I don’t want you to work here anymore.” Well, apparently me expressing the desire to take that position made its way up to her and she wanted to talk to me about it. She told me honestly that she didn’t want to put me in that position in the store I am working in because she thinks I would fail. I can see her point; she said it’s not me, it’s the store. She’s right, I’ve seen other people in our store fail in that position and get asked to leave. I don’t want to set myself up to fail. She did tell me though that she thinks they’re wasting me where I am and that she’d like me to move to another store for training with the possibility of opening the new store in March. She told me she’d be at my regular store the following week and she’d talk to me about it then.

When she was at my store she didn’t mention anything to me about the new job and ended up leaving early because of an emergency. She came back, but I’d gotten off work by the time she got back. This was Wednesday. Friday when I got to work I saw an email from her to my manager telling him to call her when he got the email. I had a feeling it was about me. That and the world revolves around me, so it had to be about me. He was in the back for a while on the phone, then came out, handed me the phone and told me she wanted to talk to me. She talked to me about the new job, offered me the position, told me she wanted me to start Monday and that was that.

Tomorrow is my first day at the new store. Saturday was weird; it was the last day at my job although I wasn’t quitting. Tomorrow I will start and all will be good, this other store gets more business and the people aren’t as cheap, therefore they have better product. It will be cool.

Leave a Reply

