Spring Break Day 4

I’m going to start today out with last night. Kayla and I stayed up kinda late last night and were sitting in bed talking and reading when through the ceiling we hear a girl moan, then a guy moan, then the bed go wiki-wiki-wiki…then silence. We laughed for probably 10 minutes…hard! Then about 2 the loud people from Whales came back to the hotel. I’m guessing from the bar. They were in the room across from us…all 12 of them and they were SO loud. They woke us, Aarti and Carlo up and I’m assuming anyone else who might have been in our little, rock hard pillowed hotel. I opened the door to ask them to be quiet, but one of the guys they were with had been trying to shush them and that wasn’t doing much. Finally, they all went to their own rooms, but they were still SO loud. At one point I went and knocked on the door of the loudest room and they shut up. I was back in my room by the time they opened the door. They weren’t too loud much after that. We were probably awake from 2 to 2:45 though…ass holes!

This morning Kayla and I were woken up by a phone call from Carlo asking if we were about ready. We weren’t. Maybe if we’d stayed in a hotel with an alarm clock in it we would have gotten up on time. I told him we’d call when we were ready. Our plan was originally to leave about 8:30. At 9:15 we met in the lobby. From there we dropped our luggage at the hotel office to hold until our train, got breakfast and caught the Metro back to the Vatican for a second go round. We got in line for the Sistine Chapel and waited about an hour and a half. We had to walk through a bunch of galleries to get to it. One had rugs and tapestries, one had paintings of maps on the walls, another was just a long hallway. The ceilings were BEAUTIFUL!! We finally got to the Sistine Chapel and people were taking pictures, which is not allowed. Anyone who’s been to a museum knows that flash will ruin artifacts and paintings and things. Really, why are you taking pictures? Especially when there are men standing at the door telling you not to! Idiots. It was incredible in there. You see it in books and pictures, but it’s just not the same. So much detail in the paintings and it’s just so incredible. I don’t know how long it took to paint and I’m sure I could find out, but it had to have taken like 5 years!

From the Sistine Chapel we headed to a little café where we could sit in the sun and got lunch. Then, we were going to try to go to the loft that is in St. Peter’s that we didn’t get to do yesterday, but the line was so long and not moving that we decided we were ok with having seen everything from the ground and headed to the Roman Forum. That place blows me away! To imagine there are things there that are close to 3000 years old just laying there. Things Julius Caesar just hung out around or temples he hung out in. To see the way the ruins have fallen and where things lay is just incredible. I put some awesome pictures up on facebook. The forums are something that literally just put me in awe, even more so that the Vatican. Is that bad? The Vatican is beautiful and incredible, but there was just something about the Forums. Maybe that the civilization is dead, maybe it’s because it’s fallen, maybe it’s because it seems to much less civilized, but it made me speechless.

Once we were finished with the forums we headed back to the train station where we got Gelato and looked around in the stores. We all decided to save our money for Milan, got our luggage from the hotel, bought sandwiches for the trip back to Milan and got on the train. The ride back was long and boring, but the beginning was very pretty with the mountains in the background and all the vineyards in the foreground. Nothing like I will see in the US…well, maybe unless I go to Northern California which has yet to happen in 24 years.

When we got to Milan we had to catch a cable car and then walk a block or so. We have just relaxed since then and now it’s about time for bed so I can be awake and have energy for shopping tomorrow!!!

One response to “Spring Break Day 4

  1. I’m so jealous. It sounds like you’re having an awesome time. I saw your pictures on facebook. Very cute! I hope you’re having fun. Be careful out there and I’ll talk to you later.

Leave a Reply

