Wanted: Career

Well, today has been eventful in the world of my career I suppose.  Last week I had 2 rather long, rather successful interviews at a large media company in midtown.  Today around lunch time a woman from HR called and extended me a verbal offer.  I accepted.  They will now run background and reference checks, get back to me in 7 to 10 days and we will then set up a start date.  Upon starting I will have full benefits.  Score.  The pay sucks though.  It’s a foot in the door, it’s a foot in the door, it’s a foot in the door…

Either way, if I really love advertising the pay doesn’t matter right?  Well, when you have to eat and pay rent it does a little.  I think I would be happy with about $10,000 more than what they’re offering in this non-negotiable salary.  I actually get to work on one of my favorite brands campaign though, which is really cool.

Shortly after I got off the phone I recieved an email, followed shortly by a phone call.  It was the head hunter I’ve been working with.  A company who interviewed me 3 times for 2 different accounts and considered me the “runner up” both times has asked for me to come back and interview for yet a third accout.  If they like me so much, why can’t they offer me a job…and a hefty salary??  Anyway, so I’m going back for this interview Monday.

I also have one scheduled at an advertising giant tomorrow.  We’ll see how it all turns out, but for now…I finally have an actual job!  (I may have to take a second to pay the bills, but I have a job!)

4 responses to “Wanted: Career

  1. Come on, wouldn’t you rather work in Lighting!?

  2. Congrats, glad to see things are looking up for you.

  3. Congrats girl! I’m sure the right job will prevail!

Leave a Reply

