Well, I was with one…

Me: I almost passed out on the way to work today.
Athena: did you not eat??
low blood sugar?
a man so sexy that you lost your balance?

— 

Symptoms of hypoglycemia:

  • hunger
  • nervousness and shakiness
  • perspiration
  • dizziness or light-headedness
  • sleepiness
  • confusion
  • difficulty speaking
  • feeling anxious or weak

This morning on the way to work this happened to me, as it does occasionally.  Usually I’m fine if I just sit down.  Today I can still feel it and it’s been an hour.  I was on the train and all of the sudden I was hot and sweaty and my stomach hurt.  I was trying to act like I was fine.  Then I couldn’t see and I knew I wasn’t fine.  Since none of the 7 men sitting down in front of me were going to offer me their seats, I squatted down.  After a couple minutes I felt better and stood back up.  When I did one of them offered me his seat, but another opened up, so I thanked him.  This happens to me on a regular enough basis that I know to sit down.

When I got to work today I called mom and told her what had happened.  She got worried and said I need to be tested for diabetes as it runs in our family.  I feel like I’d have more problems if I were diabetic though and also like I’d have been diagnosed before 25.  In any case, I will probably get this checked out just to be safe.

Leave a Reply

