Work life balance

So this weekend I got back into going to the gym.  As of today I have gone to the gym more in the last 3 days than I did the entire month of February.  See, the thing is…I work too much.  I’d like to say I just work hard, but there are people out there who work very hard and work 9-6…and get lunch.  I’m trying to be better about not working 70 hours a week.  I’m getting better at not working so much, but I never feel like my work is done.  When I stay late every day, I feel like I get my work done.  See, the thing about my job is this…people call all day, I have meetings all day, and I’m having to put fires out and answer emails all day.  The only time of the day that I can get some real quality work done is after about 6pm.  It suits me to work from 6-10 and knock out project after project.  I can turn on my iPod and it’s just me and the computer.  But the problem with this is, I get very little sleep, I never get to cook, and I never go to the gym.  If I can’t leave work by about 8:30 I don’t really have time to go to the gym seeing as it closes at 11.  I know that seems like a lot, but consider commuting, changing, stretching, etc..then I still have a 15 minute walk home.

Anyway, this weekend I went to the gym twice.  It was the first time I’d gone since early February and not going to the gym really gets in my head and I start convincing myself that I am gaining weight.  Well, I weighed myself on Saturday and I actually had not gained weight at all, it’s totally in my head.  The whole body image thing is crazy.  I can weigh 132 and if I’m working out I totally feel good about myself and the way I look.  If I’m not working out I notice more and more the parts of me that I hate and I convince myself that I’m gaining weight, although the way my clothes fit never changes.  So, after these 3 days I don’t want to stop going.  I want to go to the gym every day, but that’s just not conducive with my work life.  We will see how things pan out, but I already know I’m not going to be able to go to the gym tomorrow, Wed, or Thurs.  The suck!  I will continue to provide regular, well , probably sporadic updates, on how bad I feel about myself…or maybe how good I feel cause I’m getting up and going to the gym in the morning.  Yeah.  Right!

Leave a Reply

