Change

Yesterday I went to a salon that was recommended to me by a colleague called Ringlet.  Sometime in mid-April I decided I wanted a change.  My hair had gotten ridiculously long and had been very long for a very long time, so I decided to cut it.  Well, for most of my life my mom has cut my hair and I was nervous about going to someone I didn’t know.  I explained that to her and that I was afraid it was going to be too short…so she played it ultra conservative, gave me some long layers, cut about 3 inches off and that was that.  After this little dose of change I still wanted to cut more, but I decided to be patient with it and see how I felt in a month.

This last weekend as I was perusing the streets of Manhattan in the 90 something heat, my hair was sticking to my back and was nearly as wet underneath as when I’d gotten out of the shower.  I decided I needed to cut more off and make a change.  Yesterday I went and had 5 or 6 inches cut off.  I needed to keep it long enough to put up because I go to the gym on a daily basis, so I thought collar bone length was good.  Once I left though, I decided that I still think it’s a little long.  It’s just past my collar bones and probably and inch or two longer than I think I want it.

I should have just nutted up in the beginning, cut the full 10 inches off and donated the hair.  I didn’t have any layers and could have done it.  Now the hair is just in a trash can somewhere.  Oh well.  Chalk it up to experience.

Leave a Reply

