Escalators

escalator

So if you’ve ever ridden an escalator in New York you probably know you stand on the right and you walk on the left.

When I get off the train in the am I try to be the first one out the doors so I can be the first one to the escalator, otherwise I end up getting stuck behind someone who just wants to stand there or takes 10 seconds for 2 stairs. This annoyance of mine has led me to a theory. I theorize that these people who stand on the escalator, rather than walk up it (all knee and back problems aside) most likely hate their jobs. I walk up because I want to get to work. They stand because they don’t want to go to work. It’s that much more time before sitting down in front of their computers.

So, I have decided that these people who stand on the escalator either have no where to be or are that much less happy with their lives than myself. I think it sounds like a reasonable take away. If you want to get where you’re going you will show it in the speed with which you try to get there.

I might not have hit the nail head on, but I think it’s food for thought.

One response to “Escalators

  1. I think they are just lazy and completely self-absorbed. But then again so am I until I’ve had my morning cup of coffee!

Leave a Reply

