The switch to wind energy

West Texas Wind Farm

This weekend I was in the East Village with my roommate and we stopped into a store that has all eco friendly/recycled goods. She wanted another small bag that she can keep in her purse so when she buys something she doesn’t have to get a plastic bag or whatever.

While we were waiting to check out this guy started talking to us about our power. We have ConEd which is such a total rip off scheme. He asked us if we knew we could specify what energy source we preferred our power to come from. Neither of us did. He said if you don’t specify it’s a default mix of oil and coal, but you can choose to have all wind energy if you want to. He told us it is about a 10% increase in your bill, but my thought is really, when you’re paying $100 a month, what’s another $10??

So, on Sunday we made the switch so that our apartment is powered by wind. I’m excited about it and can’t help but think of the wind farm that was built on 84 and I-20 that I used to pass on my way home from college. So very cool.

Just in case anyone else reading this is in NYC and interested in converting to wind power, his info is:
Sam Carroll: new.wind.energy.ny@gmail.com
(646) 457-9320 (cell)
http://www.newwindenergy.com/newyork

At least check it out.

Leave a comment