American Wife

I forgot to blog about American Wife. I read it a couple of weeks ago on a recommendation by tbf’s sister. It was SO good. The book is by Curtiss Sittenfeld and it loosely based on the major events of Laura Bush’s life. There are 4 parts to the book detailing the different times of her life. The main character, Alice, is so sweet and really the kind of person you want to root for. The book follows her from high school through the time that her husband is President.

I don’t want to go into deep details of the book because I don’t want to spoil it for anyone, but it was definitely my favorite read so far this year. The book opened up my opinion of both Laura and George Bush. As a follow up I am now reading Laura Bush’s bio by Ronald Kessler. It’s much more of an editorial read, but still interesting to compare her real life, to the fictional story based on her life. I’m not sure who exactly I thought she was, but she’s absolutely not the person I expected.

Leave a Reply

