Justin Timberlake Tweets

The other day while looking at my facebook, I noticed a status update from Taylor Swift. Seeing anything on a social network by Taylor Swift makes me smile, because it’s actually her who does her updating and tweeting. She’s a normal young adult with an incredibly not normal job, but that doesn’t take away her interest in interacting with her friends and peers that we all have. I follow her on Twitter and her tweets are always sincere and real. I love it.

Then, yesterday I was looking at facebook and noticed a status update from Justin Timberlake, yes, I follow a small handful of celebrities on social networks. Ashton Kutcher is not one of them. It said something about him having a hard time making friends on Twitter and linked to this video.

Seriously though, this is Justin Timberlake. I’m sure his putting that on facebook immediately got him several thousand followers on Twitter. I don’t know. On one hand, if I’m a celebrity, I want people to follow and like my brand, so I want as many friends as I can get. On the other hand, I’m still a person and I don’t want crazy people I don’t know watching my every move. I’m sure that this is where discretion comes into play and you only provide limited updates about things or simply update only about your career. I’m not good at censoring myself though and I don’t like feeling like I have to do it. I suppose this is why I have no desire to be a celebrity. I would never want to be in a position where I can’t go out to Chili’s or the grocery store or the mall.

I just found it to be odd that he was basically like, I can’t make friends…be my friend! I wonder how many of the people he’s friends with or who follow him actually know him. This leads me to wonder how many friends celebrities really have. Sure, they’re friends with other celebrities, probably the same way I am friends with people I work with, but what about true friends like the ones I have from high school and college. A lot of these celebrities didn’t go to either of those places, they were tutored and then pursued their career in one form or another. I wonder if being a celeb gets lonely. What do you do on a Friday night when you don’t want to go out? How many people can you call to come watch a movie with you or play Wii with you and just chill?

Leave a Reply

