Christmas Ads

christmas

It seems to me that this year there has been a delay in the over the top amount of Christmas ads that you see after Halloween, but before Black Friday. I don’t know if it is a product of the Recession or what, but I feel like usually at this time of year, you see a majority of ads on tv that are for something you should buy someone for Christmas. That doesn’t feel like the case to me this year.

I also feel like this is something I should have some insight into, but I don’t work on CPG or Electronics, so I can’t really speak intelligently about whether budgets are down.

I’m not complaining, I’m just saying, it’s weird that I don’t feel like I’m seeing a lot of Christmas stuff yet this year. And typically the more I see the more in the Christmas spirit I get. It doesn’t feel like November to me at all. It still feels like October. Some of that also has to do with the fact that it has been unreasonably nice here on the weekends (for November). At this time last year I was listening to Amy Grant sing Christmas carols all day via my Pandora. This year I don’t even like the thought of Amy Grant yet. I completed my first Christmas present this weekend, but it feels like I’m starting too early…although, I know truthfully, I’m starting a little late.

I blame the weather and the lack of ads. I’m going to need to do something soon to get me feeling like it’s going to be Christmas soon.

2 responses to “Christmas Ads

  1. please don’t say anything bad about the weather. I am already in full Christmas mode… and LOVE the fact that I can shop without ten layers of clothing on :)

  2. That’s funny, the more Christmas stuff I see, the less in the “Christmas spirit” I am.

Leave a Reply

