Easter 2010

Yesterday we had a bunch of friends over for Easter dinner. It was nice to have a sort of family kind of thing since none of us have family here. I made my bunny cake and, unfortunately, that’s the only thing I managed to take a picture of. I wish I’d gotten a picture of the meal – including my first ham, which turned out quite well I think!

It was a perfect beautiful day yesterday. We hung out, talked, ate, played on the roof deck, and I had a great time. There were 9 of us there and it was nice to have people to hang out and chat with. It definitely felt like a holiday, which was nice, because holidays can tend not to feel that way if you’re not with family.

We didn’t actually go to church yesterday, we went to the Easter Vigil on Saturday night because I was someone’s sponsor through RCIA and they do all their baptisms and confirmations at that mass. It was long, but it wasn’t miserable long, maybe because I was involved throughout. My favorite part was by far the fire at the beginning. So you walk into the church and it’s all dark – no lights on, but everyone gets an unlit candle. To start mass they have this big pedestal they light a fire on the top of in the back of the church, the priest then lights a candle from that which he uses to light the paschal candle and from the priest’s candle the flame/light spreads rapidly. All the candidates/catechumans and their sponsors (me) were standing in the back with the priests, deacons, alter servers, lecters, etc. We all lit our candles from the priests and others around us and then it spread from us to the congregation in the the pews and up to the front of the church. It was really amazing to see and was beautiful to see this giant, old church lit by hundreds of candles. The way the light spread felt very unifying and I couldn’t help but smile. I don’t know if I can handle an Easter Vigil again next year, but that feeling I had and that part of the mass will make me at least consider it.

2 responses to “Easter 2010

  1. Great cake! I hope you enjoyed sponsoring someone this year!

  2. I totally thought about this cake on Easter Sunday. I wondered to myself, “Did she make her bunny cake this year?” and low and behold, you did!

Leave a Reply

