Famous Movie Lines

Yesterday, I watched the Jerk in between football games. When the crazy murderer guy was shooting the cans and Steve Martin said, “He hates these cans!” it got me thinking. If I had the option to meet a screenwriter, I would ask them this question: “When you write a movie, do you know when there’s a line in it that’s going to become interwoven into American culture?” For example:

Did Sidney Howard or Victor Fleming know Rhett’s line, “Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn,” would become so widely recognizable?

Did Rob Reiner, Aaron Sorkin, or Jack Nicholson know the line, “You can’t handle the truth!!” would become so frequently quoted or referenced?

Did Richard Linklater or Matthew McConaughey know Wooderson saying, “That’s what I love about these high school girls, man. I get older, they stay the same age,” would be so widely quoted and laughed about in the social lives of twenty-somethings?

Did Michael Curtiz, Julius & Phillip Epstein, or Humphrey Bogart know, “Here’s looking at you, kid!” would become one of the most notable movie quotes of all time?

I suspect these directors, writers and actors would tell you sometimes they knew, sometimes they didn’t. I just imagine it being such an interesting conversation – much like the conversation between Iris and Arthur in The Holiday about the very same topic.

2 responses to “Famous Movie Lines

  1. I found your blog while researching my own interest The Fountainhead. Flat out one of the best written stories ever on so many levels. Pure genius at work.

    Well, I found your quotes and from there have been getting to know your world a bit. I have to admit I wish I saw what you the author looked like but that’s okay if for all your rants you don’t do a reveal. You even work in an industry I wanted to be a bigger part of for years. You live in NY which is my summer playground. Wow. But I don’t envy you as I wouldn’t want to live there unless I was truly set and could get out of dodge on in a moment. I like my trees etc… Still Union Square, Central Park, Riverside Drive, everywhere in between. Much to appreciate.

    I’ve got a busy life so reading what others write is something I’m spread thin on but I will be checking out what you have to say. Seems we share a lot of common interests. Not knitting though. I do sew! My mother worked in a textile mill and handed down the ability to work with a needle to me. Best of luck and if you get the notion, read some of my work.

  2. Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all folks you really
    realize what you’re talking about! Bookmarked.
    Kindly also seek advice from my website =). We will have a hyperlink trade arrangement between us

Leave a Reply

