Dinner Party Table Setting

This past weekend I had a dinner party and had this vision in my mind of what I wanted my table to look like. I was able to hit my vision almost exactly and was so happy with my table.

The table cloth was really tough to find, actually, because my table is so big. It’s a 4’x4′ square. I found the “outdoor” table cloth at Bed Bath & Beyond last year. The placemats I also had from BB&B. The napkins are brand new from Williams Sonoma. They were only $7 each. I was going to make napkins, but I was crunched for time and these probably turned out to be cheaper than the fabric I would have used. The name cards are from Martha Stewart. They took some time, but I loved them.

We had a couple of birthdays to celebrate, so I make a chocolate cake with yummy buttercream frosting, but the birthday boys didn’t know I’d made a cake, so I put it in the microwave to hide until after dinner. Great hiding spot, but bad idea with so much cooking still left to be done. The frosting ended up melting off the sides of the cake, which was disappointing, but it was still good!

Leave a Reply

