The Hunger Games

I vehemently opposed Twilight. I had NO interest in reading a book written about glittery vampires. From an outside perspective, I found no interest in these books from a literary perspective or a story perspective.

I felt this same way about The Hunger Games when people started talking about the books. I tend to be especially wary of books that are made into movies. I am the kind of person who will either read a book or see the movie, but not both (Unless it’s the Notebook – I’m still sorry about that, Jared). I have no interest in compromising the images I dream up in my mind and I become especially uninterested when it seems the images available to me are no where near as cool as what I imagine in my mind. I felt this way until I read a facebook status by my former campus minister, which he used as an opportunity to discuss the themes and the symbolism of the series with his friends. The deep, mature topics they discussed really peaked my interest beyond the chatter I was hearing from my girl friends. The fact that they were flying through these books at Harry Potter speeds didn’t hurt though.

I ordered the trilogy from Amazon and after completing the book I was reading at the time, I dug right in. I flew through the first book (The Hunger Games) and I loved it right from the very beginning. I just expected Katniss to get picked, I did not expect that Primrose would be involved. The constant references to the tyranny of the government, the entire set up of the games and the lack of a chance Katniss stood, her constant need to rebel, her innocence, and especially the story line with Gale really kept me hanging. I couldn’t wait to get to the end of the book and for Katniss to run back to Gale once she was done playing to the Peeta love story. Aaand then that didn’t happen, which immediately hooked me on the second book. I wanted to keep reading until Katniss realized her love for Gale and ran to him.

When I began Catching Fire, where the story was headed seemed pretty obvious, but I still hoped and wished that Katniss and Gale would somehow manage to end up together. She would realize how amazing and perfect for her he was. She would realize how he knew her better than anyone, how he loved her family, how he allowed her to joke and be herself and enjoy life more. I hoped that Peeta would be killed in the 75th annual Hunger Games and Katniss would go home to Gale & her family. But, alas, where would the story go for the third book from there.

I liked The Mockingjay the least of the three books – the allure and my interest really wore off for this book. I kept reading because I still had a hope that Peeta would die and Katniss would realize she couldn’t live without Gale, but I definitely felt disappointment in the end. It seemed like the book was coming to an end and there were all these loose pieces that needed to be tied up, so the author hurried and tied a nice, pretty bow. I felt like there was no real resolution between Katniss and Gale, I didn’t like that Katniss went back to District 12 and remained somewhat secluded and I really didn’t like that Katniss was always supposed to question whether Gale had killed Primrose.

I really wish that I had enjoyed this trilogy more, I really wanted to. I did enjoy the symbolism and the themes, which were what made me pick up the trilogy in the first place, but overall, those weren’t enough to make the series for me. I really enjoyed the first book, the second was alright and the third was disappointing. It feels like most of my girlfriends disagree with me. What are your thoughts?

2 responses to “The Hunger Games

  1. Hahahaha, I’m surprised you remember that. Easily my worst movie going experience ever next to, of course, a failed date having to witness Kathy Bates full frontal in About Schmidt.

  2. I would have to agree with you on this. I LOVED the first book, but each book got a little worse for me. Overall, I’m glad I read it and I enjoyed the movie. They’were entertaining, but not the very best books I’ve ever read.

Leave a Reply

