Dancing

Saturday night I went to a thing at church called Cafe Amistad with the intention of meeting new people. Not looking stupid and dancing with them. :) Women were invited by the men for “a night of pampering.” I got there, met some people, had some good food and then sat around talking. The DJ started playing some serious 80’s music and we were watching the older (than us) people dance. They were so cute! Finally, the 20 something guys decided to start dancing, and against my will I was dragged out to the awkward circle that had been formed. One of the guys was a GREAT dancer. He salsas…you can tell. Well, guess what, yup, a salsa song came on. He danced with someone, I don’t know. His roommate asked me to dance. I’ve been salsa dancing (so fun!) before but I’m not very good. I can move my hips or my feet, but not my hips and my feet. He didn’t know how to do it, so I taught him what I know (which is not a lot). We had a pretty decent time.

I have been salsa dancing a few times. I can do an ok job. I can follow just fine if I have a partner who knows what he’s doing and it’s always a lot of fun. I want to learn to ballroom dance. I am thinking of taking the class in the fall. In high school I used to swing dance and I was pretty decent at that. I could do things that other people couldn’t (flips and stuff) and it was a lot of fun. I agree with my commenter (is that a word aboy?), dancing is fun and a good way to get to know people…and real dancing is so much better than having some guy rub his stuff all over me.

2 responses to “Dancing

  1. What, are you criticising people who like getting stuff rubbed on them? Cos I mean, that’s my favorite part of going downtown.

  2. YouWillLearnToHateMe

    By going downtown, she doesnt mean 6th street….

    ;-)

Leave a comment